Spinning début

DSC08602

 

Knitting as a resurgent craft is one thing: doing what our grannies were doing when we were kids and the pleasure of making handmade gifts seem very valid motivations, and your friends’ jokes about your hobby must have been less and less frequent in the last few years.

 

But spinning? As in, making one’s yarn for knitting/crochet projects?! Well, that’s quite another (weird) story.

 

And yet, it had been on my mind for a while now, the more so as I could see all the fantastic, handspun stuff some bloggers were making.

To get myself started, I went to a class at the Fibreworks, leaving with roving and a spindle to practise at home. And I am adamant that spinning is really addictive once you get it.

 

I am already considering buying a spinning wheel, and I am usually not someone rushing a love story!

 

But pictures will tell it better – here is my very first attempt, from various fleeces, some carded, some straight from the sheep (ok it looks slightly hippie, but who cares).

 

 

DSC08599

Quel bel échantillon de pull "Le père Noël est une ordure"

And gradually:

 

Echevette réalisée à partir d'un ruban de mérinos peigné

This is a tiny skein made from a merino roving

Echantillon tricoté gros à partir d'un petit filage de Wensleydale, une laine de mouton aux propriétés très proches de l'angora (longues fibres brillantes et douces)

That is a gauge from my first foray into spinning Wensleydale fibers – very long, soft and shiny fibers, like angora!

 

Now I must say that the wrong part of this story is that handspinning is basically about increasing one’s stash (oops). BUT, the good news is, I can use fibers to needlefelt when I am not spinning them.

 

Are you interested in spinning yarn or do you think knitting your projects is already quite enough?

 

TIP: gorgeous handmade drop spindles to be found on Etsy (just saying)

Leave a Reply

